Natural interactions for medical image analysis

Interaction-Design Master Thesis

physical cube to view/manipulate a 3D model – v0.2

leave a comment »

In my last meeting with my mentor Mine we discussed the idea of the physical-cube-interface. Mine had a good point by mentioning the difference between looking at a 3D model on your own to the situation in a video conference. I think the augmented reality approach (in which you see the actual video stream with your own hands and the cube, augmented with the digital 3D model) is great for discussing a case online in a video conference, but doesn’t make much sense while analyzing a case on your own. If you are on your own, you don’t really need to see your own hands on the screen.

So I think there should be 2 concepts – one for working alone and another one for discussing and showing a case online.

In the second version of my physical-cube-interface prototype you can not see the video stream. I tried to make the tracking more stable and also implemented some of my initial ideas for viewing actual radiology data. This is still a very early prototype but I have the feeling that I am on the right track here. While playing around with the prototype I become more familiar with the advantages and problems. It already feels really natural to view a 3D model. But I think the other ideas I’ve implemented (pressure sensor, move cube left/right to change transparency) need some more consideration. At this stage there is too much things happening at the same time.

Written by Jannes

March 10, 2009 at 10:41

Leave a Reply

