Natural interactions for medical image analysis

Interaction-Design Master Thesis

3D printing and modeling

leave a comment »

I talked about the reporting part of the radiologist before. Nower days reports from the radiology department are very low fidelity because of technology constrains. The current PACS system are often not able to handle more than plain text and images. In my concept for the reporting part I am thinking of 3D prints… printing out specific body parts (from the alanysed body scan) could be helpful to communicate the findings. Especially in scenarios with surgeons and orthopedic surgery this could be very helpful.

This is why I want to print a 3D model of a deformed skull. I generated the 3D model from an actual CT scan with OsiriX. But even though the skull is from a kid its still a big object for 3D printing. I’ve got an estimated of more than 3 kgs of material, which would result in a price of 10000 sek (ca. 1000 euros). So I am trying to reduce the amout of material now in different ways… I have some experience with 3D modeling from my Industrial Design studies, but thats a long time ago. I having a lot of fun to play around with the the 3D applications and more importantly its actually really inspiring for my project. There is a lot of different ways in navigating and manipulating 3D models in the different applications, and I think I could get some ideas about how to use these methods for 3D viewing of medical scans. So I’ve tried AliasStudio, Cinema4D, Rhino and SolidWorks and will see see if I can implement some of these ideas in my concept. Also this reminded me of the Adobe Photoshop Extended version for medical image viewing. Maybe there could be a extended version of a 3D modelling tool for radiologists?
Here are some pictures of the 3D file I am working with right now. It’s a very complex file with a lot of polygons, which makes it hard to work with.

alias-picture

And here a close-up view from the inside of the skull… (lots of polygons and points!)

3d-madness


Written by Jannes

April 28, 2009 at 12:33

Posted in Phase 03 - Prototyping

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

